Deuteronomy 14: What you can eat (part 2)


A list of things you can eat is given along with a list of things you can’t. Anything with cloven foot that chews the cud can be eaten. With the exception of camels, pigs, hares and rabbits (coneys). You can eat anything in the water with fins and scales, but if it lacks scales and/or fins. Don’t eat it. You can eat fowl – except for owls, eagles, egrets, herons, hawks, swans, pelicans, cormorants and storks. You can’t eat anything that both crawls and flies. And you can only eat things you kill. If it dies on it’s own. Don’t eat it. This will make you weird to other people, but that’s what sets you apart. Others can eat whatever they want and you can sell them forbidden things to eat, as long as you don’t eat them yourself.

In other words:

There are some rules about what you can eat. But make money off of others, however you want.

Favorite bit:

That pygargs are among the animals that are allowed as food. No one seems to know exactly what a pygarg is – some sort of antelope apparently. (Deuteronomy 14:5)

Least favorite bit: 

Deuteronomy 14: 12-19 – the list of disallowed birds is quite long, and since I don’t abide by these rules rather boring.

Most interesting bit:

I wonder why swan is prohibited. Seems like they would have a lot of good meat. I get that they are pretty, but they do look tasty.

Moral Lesson Learned:

Don’t make other people live by your rules (Deuteronomy 14: 21)